Facts About Uruguay

Montevideo Picture
Montevideo, Uruguay

Uruguay Flag  Bandera de Uruguay  Map of Uruguay  Mapa de Uruguay

Facts About Uruguay

Uruguay is located in Southern South America, bordering the South Atlantic Ocean, between Argentina and Brazil.

  • Language: Official language is Spanish

  • Currency: Uruguayan peso (UYU)

  • Population: 3,494,382 (July 2009 est.)

  • Land Size: 176,215 square kilometers

  • Capital: Montevideo

  • Borders:
    Uruguay has borders with Argentina and Brazil.

  • Industries:
    food processing, electrical machinery, transportation equipment, petroleum products, textiles, chemicals, beverages. Agriculture: rice, wheat, soybeans, barley; livestock, beef; fish; forestry.

  • Land divisions: 19 departments:
    Artigas, Canelones, Cerro Largo, Colonia, Durazno, Flores, Florida, Lavalleja, Maldonado, Montevideo, Paysandu, Rio Negro, Rivera, Rocha, Salto, San Jose, Soriano, Tacuarembo, Treinta y Tres.

  • Major Cities:
    Montevideo (Montevideo), Salto (Salto), Paysandú (Paysandú), Las Piedras (Canelones Department), Rivera (Rivera), Maldonado (Maldonado Department), Tacuarembó (Tacuarembó), Melo (Cerro Largo Department), Mercedes (Soriano Department), Artigas (Artigas Department).


    Other keywords used are facts Uruguay, Uruguay facts, Uruguay information, and information Uruguay

    Return from facts about uruguay to the home page

    New!" of comments have already been left on our site. Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below."

  • Make Money with Clickbank

    Medford, Oregon, United States

    Central Point, Oregon, United States

    Grants Pass, Oregon, United States

    Crater Lake National Park, Oregon, United States